Over the past five years, cellphones in school have become as polarizing as politics. As technology advanced, teachers developed ways to revolutionize learning with personal devices, and before the (amazing) movement towards 1:1 occurred, many teachers started allowing students to use their cellphones in their lessons – which may have been the only way to try a new tech tool without signing out a lab.

I was an ardent supporter of changing school policy from no phones, to phones in passing, cafeteria, and stop light zones in classrooms. At the time, I was doing Dean of Students work, and couldn’t believe how many cell phone write ups I was getting- we could solve this constant war by just allowing kids to have them! There were strong arguments on each side, but ultimately, we decided to try the policy change via shared decision making vote, and cellphones were no longer confiscated.

I’ve worked in three districts since then (all middle schools) – and times have changed. I realize that my observations do not apply to the high school environment, but focusing on middle school student learning,  I feel students have been more engaged and more focused on the lesson when they cannot access their devices, or can only do so with permission/at lunch. I can do great tech-rich lessons on classroom devices. And, as an adult who also struggles with disconnecting, when I force myself to disconnect, I feel more relaxed and present in the moment. I also think it makes it easier for staff and kids when the entire school makes a decision and sticks with it.

I’m sure some old pals would tell me “I told you so!”. But, if I could go back and change my vote, I am not sure I would. I truly felt I was keeping with the times, and empowering kids. I’ve learned since how much stress phones bring us. Great risks reap great rewards, and sometimes, they don’t go as we hoped, or don’t have a measurable impact on learning. I admire educators and schools that are willing to try new things, and find what fits their culture best.

 

Interesting related read:

https://www.nytimes.com/2019/02/23/business/cell-phone-addiction.html?smid=fb-nytimes&smtyp=cur&fbclid=IwAR3IbPKzluD5scI1BBnV6BfA-UNg1PAbYmgZZhbLLVY0ixTlzWZTdoaJjuY