We have made it 7 months into this new world of learning!

Kids are learning. I am learning. This is not the best teaching or learning we have ever done. It is not ideal for anyone. But we are doing it. Nobody wants this scenario, but we grow to make the best of it.

I teach kids in the room (10-15)  and on zoom (10-15). Here is how I do it:

  • Teach one lesson from my desk and pin myself to smart board
  • Rotate between in room and on zoom for class participation (equity) – stand looking at class AND screen, wide pan for participants
  • Only have kids in class join zoom call for group work/multiplayer games
  • Still have kid use real manipulatives (dice, cut outs) if they are in front of me, and find online versions for kids at home
  • Look at the chat as often as I check my rear view mirror when I’m driving. I respond to kids who are answering in the chat by stating their name and what they contributed, unless I know they are very shy
  • Take as much PD as possible to find my way. Scour twitter for free sessions! PEOPLE WANT TO HELP!

I recently tweeted my recipe for a good lesson:

What I need:                                                                       What kids need:

Want to know more about those recipes? Read on! And Good Luck! The most important thing is making the time we have with the kids count. I try to be present, energetic, and positive when we are “on”- ’cause the kids have gone through enough. I have my days, but they don’t need a crabby teacher on top of a disappointing year of their childhood.

What I need:

  1. Built in down time: My school moved to one hour blocks to accommodate social distancing in a very large school. I have learned I need about 5 minutes EVERY period during which I can do my attendance. This usually is in the form of kids on a game (see below)or digital worksheet (wizer.me).
  2. Positive Self-Talk: I sweat through my shirt a few times in the beginning of the year and went red-faced when I faced a problem. I used some strategies to help me and decided I wouldn’t just do them internally – but outload for the kids to hear. I literally said “I can do this. I have a problem and we are going to find out how to fix it”.  Show them what determination looks and sounds like. Best part – kids end up helping me!
  3. Accept I don’t control the internet. I don’t control CoVid. I cannot control if a child is home and not actually engaging. I call home, I email, I offer extra help. But, there are things this year that are beyond my control and when they start to eat me up I take a deep breath and tell myself (or a colleague, or a parent) “Offer wonderful learning experiences, but accept what you cannot control”.
  4. Walks. Or even a day off. My head screamed so badly the first two weeks of teaching remotely – I knew I had to develop boundaries I didn’t set last year, and honor some sacred me time. I use a meditation app, or take a bath or a quick walk when I need it. My family and my students benefit the most from self-care.
  5. Have Fun! This means I still dance, and play games with the kids. I have to think about how to modify things a lot, and sometimes they don’t work out. But I take a lot of chances.
  6. *added* I pay out of pocket for things that make my life better. I’m fortunate that I can budget for things like game systems and accounts for my students. I follow Dave Ramsey and set aside monthly – it makes my life easier and THE KIDS LOVE IT.

What the Kids Need:

  1. Say hello: acknowledge each of them as people, individually. Sometimes I follow up with a review question, usually I just smile and say “hola____”.
  2. Gamified Skill Practice:

         Games I pay for:

  • Gimkit
  • WordWall
  • Wizer.me (kid friendly digital worksheets)

       Games I use Free Versions

  • Kahoot,
  • Blooket,
  • Quizlet

Accounts my District purchases for me/the school (thank you!)

  • Nearpod
  • SeñorWooly

3. Brain or ocular breaks – kids are sitting ALL DAY. I use these resources to find good ideas for brain breaks:

4. Class Closing: I use the same expression for kids to say goodbye for a few months. It was “gracias por aprender/enseñar” (from Elicia Cárdenas) and now it is “maestra que tenga buen día”. You could use any expression you really want kids to learn!

5. While I’m cleaning desks, I take some time to chat with the kids. Really engage them in conversation – in English. I actually feel like I’ve gotten to know my students better this year than previously.