The dynamics of teacher interaction have a profound effect on the schools we work in. There have been times that I have observed (and, while it pains me to admit – even participated in) teacher to teacher behavior that was worse than what I would expect from the children. I have seen people leave department meetings crying from painful comments from colleagues. I also remember a feeling of competitiveness when I was a young teacher, and I think this stemmed from insecurity in my own practices. Remember this when you are working with a new teaching colleague who seem like they are trying to prove they are the best – they are finding their way, and they are trying to convince themselves as well as you.

This weekend I attended a regional NYSAFLT (New York State Association of Foreign Language Teachers) conference. Over the years, I have worked in three local districts as a teacher, administrative intern, and administrator (albeit, briefly). As my own skills developed, I was able to see the strengths in other teaching styles. It is so important to remember that, while there are some teaching styles that may harm childrens’ learning, the majority of them are effective teaching styles that work with that teacher’s strengths. At a table of educators I really admire, we laughed about how some of us love to sing and dance with the kids, while others prefer to act, infuse tech with the kids, movement, visual aides etc., to reach their learning targets. Avoid judging another teacher because they are not a carbon copy of your teaching style, instead, try listening to what they have to say to enhance your own practice.

Take a moment to remember your own education experience – some teachers were so very different from others, yet you still learned from them!  This weekend I got to see at least 6 teachers that teach the same exact subject area and grade level as I do this weekend – and I have learned so much from each of them. They are rockstars in the profession that I feel fortunate to have crossed paths with. Share your ideas, collaborate, work as a team, and most of all, don’t be afraid to tell someone when they have had a positive impact on your teaching. Do not cut down other teachers to make yourself feel better about your work – we are all in this together! We are here to create the best, most effective and engaging learning experiences for the students. And for those teachers that weigh you down – strategic avoidance. As I said in a previous post – they are going to bad talk you no matter what you do – so let your light shine, and share it with others.

Special thanks to LOTE teachers Analisa Chapman, Sarah Pennica, Michele Walpole, Gabbi Seeber, Heidi Connell, Jen Colbert, Cindi Bero, Heather Fraser, Alana Amarose, Jenn Mongold, Andrea Gregg, Allison Weinhold, Laura Sexton and countless others who have shared their creative ideas without hesitation and helped me be a better teacher. You rock.